top of page
  • nickkj01

Personal Narrative Reflection

Personal Narrative Reflection

When I heard about the summary of the personal narrative assignment, I immediately knew what I was going to write about. Once Mat mentioned that we should include “somewhere where we felt heard,” I immediately knew what I wanted to write about. The first thing that came to my mind when I heard those words was my soccer team from senior year in high school. I did not find it hard at all to think of anything to write about this topic because I was very passionate about it in high school and I had a lot to say about it. I believe that this was the best possible thing for me to write about, not only because I was so passionate about it, but because I am able to recall almost every detail from that season so well as if it had just happened yesterday. My coach’s speech from the championship game is what I remember very vividly because it was so emotional for the team and it was even emotional to write about all of these months later. As soon as I sat down with my laptop, I started clacking away at my keyboard, typing everything that came to mind.

At first, I wrote my narrative sort of incorrect. Instead of being a full-on story, my narrative was more like an essay at certain parts and other parts of it just gave too much unnecessary information. When I had my conference with Mat, he told me what I did correctly and what I should fix in order to make it seem more like a narrative and less like an essay. After this conference, I knew exactly what to do to make my narrative how it should have been. After revising my narrative further, it now is truly a story told naturally in the first person through my perspective. I believe that the way I used imagery and described not only what was going on but who was doing what and appealed to the different senses, was done well.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Personal Narrative Final

Nicholas Jost Mat Wenzel July 21, 2019 ENC2135 Personal Narrative As a team, we stood on the sideline and put our hands over our hearts during the national anthem and walked out onto the field one by

Personal Narrative Second Draft

Personal Narrative All of the pressure stood on the shoulders of not only one, but two anxious goalkeepers. One would have all of the glory and the other would feel utter devastation. Let’s rewind abo

Personal Narrative "Shitty First Draft"

Personal Narrative A place I have felt heard is in my psychology classroom during my senior year in high school. I felt heard because most of my peers in that class did not spend their class time prod

bottom of page